Not Today!

Today, my precious celebrates 6 years of his beautiful life. With excitement for the coming day, he went to bed late and got up early, the morning of the 6th and before I knew it was day, he said, “So mammy, I’m 6 years now?” A smile moved on my lips through my sleep and I said, “Yes babe, you’re 6”. He went back to sleep for the next two hours. Hadn’t planned much for the day but what I did was trashed aside by him, cause he had his own ideas of how he wanted his day celebrated. He wanted to go to the beach and not just any beach. He wanted to go to Mero. I was like “Uggghhhhh! Josiaaaahhhhh!”

Children make the most impossible demands at times. I definitely didn’t plan for the beach, least of all one that was out of my comfort zone. I did not want to go to the most popular beach on the island just the three of us, on a Saturday, when school re-opened the following week and a Category 4 Hurricane was expected on the Wednesday of the same week. Uh-uh!
“How about we go to town for pizza and play in the gardens?” His face lit up immediately.
“And after we going beach?”
“Oh, Lord” I thought, but did not respond.

Was there no end? Why is his heart so set on going to the beach today? I wasn’t having it. We’re not going to any beach today, and in the event we do end up going, it’s not Mero. I’m not in the mood. Frustrated with things he knew nothing of but at the same time, I don’t want to spoil his day. Can’t we just go to the gardens for a while, play games, go somewhere eat and return home? That’s such a fail proof plan. Easy as 1-2-3. The day already seems to be ahead of me. The little I did that morning seemed a lot and now I may have to end up cooking lunch, which I didn’t want to do, just because somebody didn’t want to go to town. Stupes.

You may say, to heck with that, You’re the mom and I do agree. But I want him to enjoy today. He’s not demanding of anything so this little request should be easy to fulfill. Yet I find myself in limbo with my feelings and his wishes. I know this isn’t difficult, so why do I feel like it is? Maybe I just thought it would be easy to pull off. Still have to bake his cake later, so this should lift his spirits a bit. (Sigh).

Then there’s the weather. It’s hot outside. Maybe some 75 degrees or so. But there are dark clouds in the sky. Impending rain. With this climate, rain falls and stops suddenly, whether the sun is out or not. (It’s rude like that). Don’t want to go out to the gardens and it rains whilst we’re there. We could easily leave and I call it quits. He wouldn’t have any problems with that, but I don’t want rain. I think I want a lazy day on his birthday. Never-gonna-happen.

So, I called his dad. He’s bringing the pizza, I’m cooking lunch (rolling eyes), and there’s no finality on the beach as yet but we’re not going. He doesn’t want to go to any of the beaches near us, so unless his father is coming or we have more company, beach is out. We can plan beach for another day, just not today.

3 thoughts on “Not Today!

Add yours

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑